What Our Patients Say

We appreciate the feedback we receive from our patients and we are pleased to share their unique experiences with you!

January 2023 Website Review

I delivered my baby at this hospital months ago but I wanted to acknowledge a nurse that took amazing care of me. Melody was my nurse and she treated me like I was family. She made me feel comfortable and even went out of her way for my husband by setting up his bed, getting us snacks or water, changing my bed sheets, and more. She explained everything she was doing and why she was doing it. I have had nurses before that just come in and out of the room and dont say anything at all. Even when I was sleep she made sure not to make so much noise but if I woke up she still had a smile on her face and explained why she was there. she did all of this and she was pregnant too! you can tell she loves her job and I wish more nurses showed the love they have for us like her. thank you

January 2023 Google Review
The nurses were veryt sweet the doctor was proficient very sweet they all took very good care of me
Would recommend this hospital for good quality care
L.C.
August 2022 Google Rerview
I had my baby this August and the experience was amazing, the nurses and staff were great. The labor & delivery staff as well as the nurses in postpartum were amazing and so kind. Thank you for all your work and dedication and for making the birth of my baby boy a beatiful experience. Doctors, staff, nurses, thank you! K.M.
June 2022 Google Review
May 2022 Google Review
This hospital has THE BEST STAFF!! I want to thank the young man who is a neurosurgeon (who’s name I don’t remember, but you know who you are…so brilliant!), Dr. Goel, Bianca (B), Robert and Kimberly!! My Mom, was in their care for 9 days and my family and I are so grateful for each and every one of you!! Thank you again!❤️ C.T.C.H. B.O.
May 2022 Google Review
Kelly Molnar
May 2022

I can't say enough about this place. I went there for chronic stomach pain. They were so fast and efficient.. ordering necessary testing and blood work and the staff in the ER WAS AMAZING! I skipped my home town of los ALAMITOS ER to come to Whittier for this reason! Thank you to the staff at this hospital and for the director there... what an amazing experience for an emergency room visit . K.M.

March 2022

"This hospital got me in so fast and helped me with what I needed promptly. I really appreciate their help so much compared to other hospitals. The staff is all so friendly." B.M.

February 2022 Google Review

"Recently admitted to this hospital to follow up on an medical emergency.. the E.R was very busy but were able to attend to my medical attention.. was then transferred to the Medical Surgery department were staff nursing were very nice with compassion to it's patients.. this hospital is very well kept & maintained.. had no issues with the medical care they provided for me.. meals were decent & provided snacks when requested.. overall a good hospital that meets medical needs for it's patients and medical staff and nursing very professional with great attitudes.. recommend this hospital for any medical care needed. DBL.G."

February 2022 Google Review

"2nd time here, yes you might have to wait, yes the wait is a tent outside that makes no sense. But the staff, doctors, nurses and staff are worth it. I hadlve had nothing but the best experiences here with staff that cares. M.V."

January 2022 Google Review

"I had the best experience ever in this hospital when i had my baby. The amount of care from the nurses and Dr.Purdom. G.R."

December 2021 Google Review

"On October 20/21 I was admitted in ER, for an Atrial Fibrillation, service was accurate, staff was very helpful including Metrology plus ICU nurses were compassionate and responsive, Dr. Patel and Dr. Morado very cooperative, so in general, I do appreciate the care and effort presented during my stay. J.M."

October 2021

"Wanna say joe the nurse tonight super attentive here at whittier hospital very generous gentleman compliment you a good nurse "Thank you so much for the difference you make in the lives of your patients! Your kindness, sincere caring, and concern make everything better and are a great encouragement." "Thank you so very much for taking care of me and being so skilled at what you do joe. L.O."

6/4/2021

"This the second visit at Whittier Hospital E.R. it's the nearest hospital I could think of being in excruciating head pain from an concussion I sustained few weeks earlier and caffeine withdrawal we think? They were so attentive and compassionate to me even after decorating the bathroom from being so nauseous! The people in waiting room were looking out for me too I was in tears! Bless the hearts and the whole staff. They had what look like a full capacity too very busy! The front staff admitting me were so kind and helpful. The nurse in Triage is amazing. The radiology team professional and compassionate especially Nurse Tanya and my P.A. Lauren every person attending to me were the best! I was in and out in a timely fashion after treatment. I felt better enough to go home. Still recovering at home waiting for doctor follow up. I'm so grateful for these dedicated people in their field to help us a d their sacrifices for doing so in these times." E.A.

October 2021

"I’ve had five procedures there and was treated so well and the staff were so helpful and courteous. I even had to stay after a surgery for three days. Have another coming up and have no worries about it. Thank you for everything you do. Always professional and friendly would recommend the hospital to everyone."

D.S.

5/28/2021

"Such a great experience here! Everyone was extremely helpful and so nice. The admitting department, volunteers, and ultrasound technician were great. They got me in and out, we're very helpful, and answered all of my questions! Thank you WHMC!"

W.M.

Letter from Brea Junior High

"Dear Whittier Hospital workers,

Thank you for doing your best to keep us safe. We thank you for your hard work during these hard times, especially with so many patients. Everyone at Brea Junior High knows how hard you are working for us and appreciate it very much. Thank you for looking out for the community and wish you all the best. Everyone understands how hard this could be for you all, and we appreciate it so much.

Thanks to you all, we know what we can do to help, even if it is just sending words of encouragement. The pandemic has affected us all, and it reassures me that there are people like you who are willing to help us all.

You are all willing to help the community during these difficult times, which is very important to all of us. We all hope that you stay safe and healthy, and once again, we thank you so much for your hard work!"

Sincerely,

Brea Junior High's National Junior Honor Society

February 2021

"When I was transferred to the hospital on Sunday night, the nurses Brittany and Geo were both professional and empathetic while they were taking care of me. They always were happy to help with anything I needed and checked in on me often to see if i was okay. I don't know how long they've been working here, but I feel that they are highly experienced with patient care. Throughout the stay at the hospital, the entire hospital and the physician has helped lift my spirits while I was recovering from my injuries. I am very satisfied with the service provided here and would like to show my appreciation for them. P.N."

Setpember 2020

"Absolutely amazing staff, very attentive after my c section and took great care of me and my newborn. My family has delivered 3 generations here with no issue. Also when my dad had a heart attack and stroke this hospital took great care of him. Granted it was a bit hot in my room but the staff made up for just the small inconveniences."

5-star Yelp Review

9/8/2020

"On Monday, September 7th I had to go to the emergency. I just want to say thank you to the staff at Whittier Hospital. I was in so much pain and don't remember any names but everyone was exceptionally nice. From the admitting employees to the doctors and nurses. Thank you for being so so nice and making this scary experience so pleasant. Keep up the great work! God bless everyone at Whittier Hospital."

5-star Yelp Review

August 2020

"This is my third stay in this hospital. Excellent staff on board here. Caring, loving and compassionate workers here. I've been in the third floor every time I've been there! You guys Rock! I love the Occupational therapists and the physicial therapists, nurses and all the other workers. Good communication."

5-star Yelp Review

8/13/2020

"We had to visit the ER at Whittier Hospital and Diana Sun was the nurse that took care of us.. She was an exceptional nurse, showing genuine concern. she made sure we had everything we needed She is very thoughfull and dynamic..."

5-star Yelp review

July 2020

"There isn't words to express the how my heart has been touched by the postpartum nurses I have been brought to tears several times throughout my stay here at whmc, knowing the postpartum team have treated newborn daughter as if she was there own. Also the maternity and delivery nurses worked like an well oiled machine to get my girlfriend the care she desperately needed at the time. I dont want forget ablut the delicious food that was provided to us during our stay. I'm truly honored to have my daughter born here at Whitter Hospital medical center Special shoout out to Nurse Thanh Nurse Ali Nurse Jane Nurse"

May 2020

"I had surgery the other day and just am so impressed by all the staff at this hospital. From the front door employee to admiring, to lab, to surgery you all were just amazing. Being there alone was so difficult because the no visitor policy due to covid, however you all made it a little less stressful for me. Dana my pre op nurse you are an absolute gem!! Thank you for talking with me and helping me through my nervousness!! Thank you to the entire surgery staff for making me laugh and keeping things real but light!! I can't tell you what a difference it makes to have people around you make you feel comfortable in such a scary place! THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart!!"

5-star Yelp review

1/19/2020

"Very good experience visiting my mother who was admitted here. The staff overall is wonderful here. Nhelda on the second floor was very nice and very helpful. The second night RN Seth was especially helpful and attentive, a perfect example of the kind of RN every patient wants. Night number three, still on 3rd floor. New RN Zeida is as nice as the others we've had. She's so sweet and caring I can only assume that everyone is this nice at this point. Night 4, mom is still here, now she is on 2nd floor telemetry. Brian is her RN and he is amazing. He explained everything that was happening to us and was open to any questions we had."

5-star Yelp review

8/17/2019

"I gave birth to both of my children via C-Section at this hospital once in 2009 baby boy with (Dr. Steve Vouis) and in 2017 baby girl with (Dr. Vihn Vo) I am grateful and will be alway's with this hospital. The nurses and the whole staff are work wonders specially the RN Maria De Los Angeles she works in the Labor Department she is a terrific nurse she has been working at this hospital for year's now she took care of me with both of my labors she made me feel at ease and very calm.

She answered to all my questions English or in Spanish. She is Amazing! As soon as I walked in to the hospital I requested my own private room because I knew I was going to stay at least 3-5 day's in the hospital because I was having a C-Section and both times I was there they granted me my wish and I had my own private room and that made me so happy. This hospital is my #1 choice. I will never change this hospital in the world. Thank You! So much to everyone who works here WHMC. Exceptional Job! - A.D."

5-star Yelp review

8/12/2019

"I recently had 2 procedures in 2 weeks with the Whittier radiology appointment and WOW. Can you believe they had the nerve to explain the procedures beforehand and make sure I was comfortable the whole time; who does that? An amazing department that's who.

Jokes aside, they were nothing short of amazing. They ensured I was comfortable the whole time and that I understood everything that was going to be done. From My who answered my call on a Saturday when I initially messed up my prep work, I called at noon on a Saturday and she was with a patient and said she would have to call me back. I honestly did not expect a call back (from experiences with other facilities) but to my surprise a few hours later when I received a call from her I was blown away. She was also the person that explained my first Procedure to me and Young was on deck to work with me as well. They were both nice and thoughtful: making sure I was comfortable and helping me keep modesty. The dr was really nice and patient as well throughout the uncomfortable X-ray.

The second week I got to work with Jessica and Young. Again, they were amazing and incredibly helpful every step of the way. They explained the procedure, talked to me as a person to keep the mood calm and relaxed, ensured I was comfortable and checked in frequently to ensure I was doing well. I remember having a procedure a few years back with My as the tech and I should written a compliment for her then too. If you ever need xrays or radiology procedures, try and get it here with this amazing staff."

5-star Yelp review

12/31/2018

"I would like to publicly announce the most outstanding care I received on my baby's delivery! I recently delivered my 1st baby at Whittier hospital and I can't stop boasting about how such great work the whole team did. From labor and delivery to postpartum care! Can't believe how this whole team in both departments took well CARE of me and my newborn. This hospital definitely deserves the Best Award in CARE because they put the CARE in HEALTHCARE! THANK YOU! To my nurses Rosario, Yali, and Kim the shift manager for the LOVE, CARE, AND ATTENTION! Thank you, to all the team that took part in my delivery. OB Purdom is the Best! - Barbie L."

5-star Yelp review

7/25/2018

"I delivered my baby girl at Whittier Hospital on Sunday July 22nd, and the nurses were truly wonderful to both myself, my husband and our new baby. While in Labor and Delivery, Katerina took excellent care of me, always making sure my ice was full and taking me to the restroom as often as I needed. Once the baby came, Miss Doris in the nursery was so kind and patient with us. My baby had a stomach issue and had to be taken to the nursery for multiple tests and during this process Miss Doris kept us informed and let us come visit her in the nursery when our daughter was in between tests. She's really an amazing lady, and I think my anxiety would have been through the roof if it wasn't for her. And finally Melanie, my postpartum nurse... she was so kind and always positive. She checked on me all the time, making sure we were comfortable. These 3 nurses really made my stay at Whittier Hospital as comfortable as possible, and they are the reason for my 5 star review. Thank you so much for all your kindnesses! - E.G."

2018-07-08

"I had the best experience in the maternity area. My plan was to deliver in a birth center. Everything went the wrong way so we end it up at the Whittier Hospital. When I got there everything was ready.
I had my midwife Simona Istrate delivered my baby but the rest of the team was fantastic.
They followed every one of my birth preferences, and I was very specific. Every one in the team was so human and empathic.
I'm 100% satisfied" - A.Z.

5 star rating


2018-06-26

"I received a phone call from my son at around 1500 saying that he had cut his hand pretty bad and was heading to WHMC. I told him that I would meet him in the ER. He had cut his had right between the thumb and index finger on his left hand. Right in the middle of that web that we have there. It was very deep and I knew that he was going to need stitches. We were called to the back within 5 minutes of waiting, triaged and sent to the minor room. A very nice PA named Brittany came in and took care of him. She cleaned out the wound and put both a deep layer of sutures and skin sutures in it. She explained everything to him before she did it keeping him at ease the whole time. He was placed in a splint at the end and sent home. Overall we had a great experience at this hospital. I would recommend it to everyone that I know. Great job to everyone that took real good care of him."

Others...

“I would like to commend and recognize Nurse B.. She was caring for my mother and was very informative and always projected a positive sense of urgency… thank you very much Nurse B. and keep up the great job!”

“I had all 3 of my children there. Fantastic hospital.”

“Pues yo esoty muy agraciado la verdad x q fui a urgencias y me atendieron rápido y pues de las enfermeras muy hambles y el enfermero q me toco también y lo bueno q hablan español no se me dificultaba decir lo q necesitaba un cordial saludos para todos los empleados de este hospital y claro los doctores también”

I wanted to express my thanks and appreciation to the staff below. ER RNs: Kelly and Steve - Kelly was very helpful and caring. Steve was the most compassionate and professional RN I have seen or worked with. Steve was quick to act, whether it was for a pt or for a colleague. Even during the change of shift, he made a point to ensure that I was comfortable and my needs were met. RN on 2nd floor: Thien was the nurse assigned to me. Like RN Steve, Thien was patient, professional and sincere. He made his rounds on time, and also made sure that my questions and concerns were answered promptly and accurately. Please tell each of them, thank you for caring for me!!

"Excellent service with lovely nurses."

"We were treated, served, and taken care of very well! We felt very appreciated!"

"Their nurses are the best!"

"I was very comfortable and the attention I received was good."

"I am thankful to Whittier Hospital Medical Center for all the activities...in the Activity Center"

"I just wanted to thank you for putting on the wonderful health fair, I really enjoyed it...It was very well done... I am an LVN... and wanted to express my appreciation."

Patient Stories

Giving Thanks

Every year during the Thanksgiving holiday, Bill Maletych, a 72-year-old Whittier resident and former patient, makes his annual round passing out hugs to hospital staffers.

In 2008, Bill, an active member of the Golden Years Senior Club, started to feel ill, but he was convinced that it was just a minor cold that would eventually pass and didn't seek any medical treatment. A week passed and he didn't feel any better; in fact, his symptoms had worsened and he began to experience severe pain in his abdomen.

Luckily, Bill was scheduled for his annual medical exam the next day, and he decided to ask his physician about his strange condition. After some basic testing, his doctor noticed some abnormalities with Maletych's lungs and told him to go to the hospital right away.

Maletych rushed to Whittier Hospital Medical Center where doctors informed him that he had pneumonia with feverish complications and that his lungs were rapidly filling with fluid. Dr. Thomas S. Tzeng and the intensive-care staff quickly drained his lungs of the fluid and stabilized his condition.

It was the first time Bill had been hospitalized."It all happened so quickly, and I'm just overwhelmed with gratitude for the staff at Whittier Hospital for saving my life - I feel very fortunate to have made it, that's why I'm here every year."

Bill Maleych has since become a familiar face at Whittier Hospital Medical Center and an active member of the Golden Years Senior Club.

"Bill's experience is just one of many untold stories that our exemplary staff regularly get to take part in," said Dr. Tzeng. "It's great to see Bill now advocating for others by encouraging individuals to seek medical attention even for things as seemingly minor as a cold."

A baby is born sooner than expected!

A Whittier Hospital nurse used CPR to save a baby who was born in the front seat of a Honda and wasn't breathing. The 7-pound, 4-ounce, 20-inch little girl was in perfect health Monday and was about to be released from Whittier Hospital Medical Center.
"I had so much fear," said mother Olga Martinez. "Then I had so much happiness."
Martinez, who lives with her husband and three other daughters off Leffingwell Road near La Mirada, said she felt a sharp pain about 11 a.m. Sunday.
She wasn't due until Aug. 29, but she was sure the baby was coming.
"The pain was so much stronger than what I felt with my other children," Martinez said.
Her husband rushed home from work and drove his wife to the hospital, Martinez said.
Her husband pulled the car in front of the hospital and ran to the lobby. Before he returned, the baby came.
It wasn't crying. And it turned blue.
"My husband was so worried," Martinez said. "He was screaming for help."
Two off-duty family practice doctors, Nasir Mohammedi and Kesheng Wu, were standing in the lobby in their blue jeans. They saw what was happening and Mohammedi called for a "code white," a signal for a pediatric emergency.
Nurse Angela Linell rushed outside and grabbed the baby from between its mother's legs and began CPR. Another nurse, Stacie Amarantos, rushed outside to help out and to cut the umbilical chord. Amarantos didn't recognize the two physicians, and told them to step aside. Linell continued to massage the baby and perform CPR.
Within 5 minutes, the baby was alive and breathing. In all, only about 50 minutes passed from when Martinez felt the first pain to when the baby came. The Martinezes named their baby Adriana.
Martinez said the event was horrifying, but she was happy to be at Whittier Hospital Medical Center, the place all her daughters were born.
"All I can say is thank you for saving my baby's life," she said.